Overlay

Print/PDF this page:

Print Friendly and PDF

Share this page:

Academic Calendar

2014-2015 School Year  |  PDF Version  |  Yale Law School

2014 FALL TERM

25 Aug. Mon. Orientation for new graduate students begins.
27-29 Aug. Wed. – Fri. Orientation and registration for all new J.D. students.
1 Sept. Mon. Labor Day. No classes meet.
2 Sept. Tues. Registration for all returning students.
First-term small groups meet.
3 Sept. Wed. Fall term begins, 8:10 a.m. Classes begin, 8:10 a.m.
Add/drop period begins, 8:30 a.m.
10 Sept. Wed. Add/drop period closes, 4:30 p.m.
9 Oct. Thurs. Fall recess begins, 6 p.m.
10 Oct. Fri. No classes will meet.
13 Oct. Mon. No classes will meet.
14 Oct. Tues. Classes resume, 8:10 a.m.
21 Nov. Fri. Thanksgiving recess begins, 6 p.m.
1 Dec. Mon. Classes resume, 8:10 a.m.
10 Dec. Wed. Only Friday classes will meet.
11 Dec. Thurs. Only Monday classes will meet. Thirteen-week session ends.
12 Dec. Fri. Fourteenth week begins.
18 Dec. Thurs. Classes end; winter recess begins, 6 p.m.

2015

6 Jan. Tues. Recess ends; examination period begins, 8:30 a.m.
15 Jan. Thurs. Examination period ends; fall term ends, 5:00 p.m.

SPRING TERM

19 Jan. Mon. Martin Luther King Holiday; no classes.
20 Jan. Tues. Spring term begins, 8:10 a.m.; registration for all students.
Classes begin, 8:10 a.m.
21 Jan. Wed. Add/drop period begins, 8:30 a.m.
28 Jan. Wed. Add/drop period closes, 4:30 p.m.
13 Mar. Fri. Spring recess begins, 6 p.m.
23 Mar. Mon. Spring recess ends; classes resume, 8:10 a.m.
27 Apr. Mon. Classes end.
28 Apr. Tues. Reading period begins.
4 May Mon. Examination period begins, 9 a.m.
11 May Mon. Scheduled examinations end, 5 p.m.
14 May Thurs. Self-scheduled examinations end, 5 p.m.
15 May Fri. Rescheduled examinations end; spring term ends, 5 p.m.
18 May Mon. UNIVERSITY COMMENCEMENT
27 May Wed. Degrees voted by faculty.

**
Labor Day is on September 1, 2014.
Rosh Hashanah is on September 25-26, 2014 (beginning at sundown on September 24).
Yom Kippur is on October 4, 2014 (beginning at sundown on October 3).
**
YLS Alumni Weekend is October 24-26, 2014.