News & Events

Print/PDF this page:

Print Friendly and PDF

Share this page:

American Association of Law Libraries Recognizes YLS Library Staff

Four members of the Lillian Goldman Law Library staff received awards at the annual meeting of the American Association of Law Libraries, held in St. Louis this summer. Those honored were: Morris Cohen, professor emeritus of law and professorial lecturer in law; Blair Kauffman, librarian and professor of law; Fred Shapiro, associate librarian for collections and access services and lecturer in legal research; and Daniel Wade, associate librarian for foreign and international law, lecturer in law, and lecturer in legal research.

Shapiro and Cohen were honored for "The Most Influential Articles or Writings for the Law Library Profession in the Second Half of the Century, 1957-2006." Of the nine articles honored, one was Fred R. Shapiro, The Most-Cited Law Reviews, 29 Journal of Legal Studies 389 (2000). Of the four books honored, one was Morris Cohen's "How to Find the Law."

Wade received an award newly established by the AALL's Special Interest Section of Foreign, Comparative and International Law. Named after its first recipient, the Daniel L. Wade FCIL-SIS Outstanding Service Award will be given periodically to honor exceptional, sustained work on behalf of the SIS. Wade's activities within the SIS have included stints as newsletter editor, section chair, interest group chair, compiler of the first SIS Directory, drafter of plans for educating new members, Oceana Institute presenter, member of numerous committees, blog moderator, and mentor to many new FCIL librarians.

Kauffman was awarded the AALL's Presidential Certificate of Merit for leadership, contributions to the profession and enthusiastic collegiality. Last year Kauffman served as Chair of the Special Committee on Fostering Legal Research for the AALL.