News & Events

Print/PDF this page:

Print Friendly and PDF

Share this page:

YLS Commemorates Brown v. Board of Education with Conference, April 1-3

 In celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the Brown v. Board of Education decision of 1954, Yale Law School will host a conference titled "The Legacy of Brown v. Board of Education: Reflections on the Last Fifty Years," April 1-3 at Yale Law School, 127 Wall Street.

The conference will bring together scholars, practitioners, educators, as well as those intimately involved with the landmark decision, in order to commemorate Brown, discuss its legacy and limitations, and explore its implications for the future of democracy.

This conference features panels entitled "Brown 101," "The Road to Brown: Law and Politics in the 1940s and 1950s"; "What Brown v. Board of Education Should Have Said"; "Beyond Brown: Courts, Congress and Civil Rights"; "Equal But Separate? The Shape of Public Education in America Today"; "Affirmative Action: Where Are We Now?"; and "Brown as Icon: Discussing the Largeness of Brown."

The opening address will be given by Elaine R. Jones on Thursday, April 1, at 8 p.m. Jones is president and director-counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense & Educational Fund.

There will be a lunch discussion on Saturday, April 3, at 12:30 p.m., entitled "What Brown Means to Me." Melba Pattillo Beals, author and member of the Little Rock Nine, and Cheryl Brown Henderson, president, Brown Foundation for Educational Equity, Excellence and Research, will participate in the lunchtime panel. Following the lunch, Brown litigators Robert Carter and Constance Baker Motley will give their "Perspectives from the Frontline."

Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton '73 will give closing remarks for the conference on Saturday, April 3, at 4:30 p.m. Other conference speakers include Lee Bollinger, President, Columbia University; Kathleen Neal Cleaver '89, Yale; Randall Kennedy '82, Harvard Law; Richard Kluger, author; Catharine MacKinnon '77, University of Michigan Law School; Reginald Mayo, New Haven Public Schools Superintendent; Gay McDougall '72, Global Rights; Charles Ogletree, Harvard Law; Gary Orfield, Harvard University; Dennis Parker, Assistant Attorney General, State of New York; Louis H. Pollak '48, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Pennsylvania; and Theodore M. Shaw, Associate Director-Counsel, NAACP Legal Defense & Education Fund.

Law School faculty participating in the conference include conference chair Drew S. Days III '66, Jack Balkin, Harlon L. Dalton '73, Reva Siegel '86, and Kenji Yoshino '96.

Panels are free and open to the public. Paid registration includes priority seating for the Senator Clinton address, a registration packet, and meals.

More information, including a complete list of speakers, and the conference agenda and registration, is available online at The deadline for registration is March 12.