News & Events

Print/PDF this page:

Print Friendly and PDF

Share this page:

Six with Yale Law School Ties Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Southmayd Professor of Law Akhil Reed Amar ’84 and Augustus E. Lines Professor of Law Henry B. Hansmann ’74 are among 203 new Fellows elected April 30 to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. 

Also elected were former McLean Visiting Professor at Yale Law School Pamela S. Karlan ’84, now the Kenneth and Harle Montgomery Professor of Public Interest Law at Stanford University; John Shattuck ’70, chief executive officer of the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation; and Richard L. Revesz ’83, Dean and Lawrence King Professor of Law at New York University.

Canadian Supreme Court Judge Rosalie Silberman Abella, former Anderson Lecturer at Yale Law School, was selected as a Foreign Honorary Member of the Academy.

“Induction into the American Academy signals rare scholarly pre-eminence,” said Yale Law School Dean Harold Hongju Koh, who noted other newly-elected fellows include such luminaries as former Vice President Al Gore, former Supreme Court Associate Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg, Grammy Award-winning pianist Emanuel Ax and filmmaker Spike Lee.

The Academy, founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, is an independent policy research center that undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Its members include such influential past leaders as George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Daniel Webster, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill. The current membership includes more than 170 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners.

The 2007 Fellows will be formally inducted in a ceremony October 6 in Cambridge, Massachusetts.