News & Events

Print/PDF this page:

Print Friendly and PDF

Share this page:

Reva Siegel ’86 Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Nicholas deB. Katzenbach Professor of Law Reva Siegel ’86 has been elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies and independent policy research centers. Professor Siegel is among 190 new Fellows and 22 Foreign Honorary Members elected April 28 to the class of 2008. Considered leaders in their field, the new members are chosen from the sciences, the arts and humanities, business, public affairs, and the nonprofit sector.

“Induction into the American Academy signals rare scholarly pre-eminence,” said Yale Law School Dean Harold Hongju Koh. “Reva Siegel’s election marks her pathbreaking scholarly role in constitutional law, legal history, and understanding constitutional change as driven by popular constitutionalism outside the courts.”

The Academy, founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems through interdisciplinary, long-term policy research. Its members include influential leaders from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. The current membership includes some 200 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Along with Professor Siegel, other 2008 Fellows include such luminaries as Supreme Court Associate Justice John Paul Stevens; filmmakers Milos Forman, Pedro Almodóvar, and the Coen brothers; former Secretary of State James Baker; business entrepreneurs Michael Dell, Jeff Immelt, and Indra Nooyi, and Yale investments manager David Swensen.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 11 at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

More information, including the list of newly-elected Fellows and Honorary Foreign Members, is available on the American Academy of Arts & Sciences website.