News & Events

Print/PDF this page:

Print Friendly and PDF

Share this page:

Judges Praise Students’ Oral and Written Arguments in Moot Court Spring Finals

The Thurman Arnold Prize Finals of the Morris Tyler Moot Court of Appeals were held Monday, May 4, in the Yale Law School Auditorium.

The Potter Stewart Prize for best overall written and oral argument went to Robert Heberle ’10 and Joseph Pace ’10, who successfully argued for the petitioner, Free Enterprise Fund, in the case, Free Enterprise Fund v. Public Company Accounting Oversight Board.

The Thurman Arnold Prize for best oralist went to Jill Habig ’09, who argued for the respondent, Public Company Accounting Oversight Board. The judges also saluted the outstanding oral performance of Rory Gillis ’10, who represented PCAOB.

The case considered whether the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002’s provisions for the appointment of members of the PCAOB violate the Constitution’s Appointments Clause, and whether the Act violates the Constitution’s separation of powers by vesting members of the PCAOB with far-reaching executive power while denying the President the power to remove those members.

Judge Steven Colloton of the 8th Circuit, Judge Raymond Gruender of the 8th Circuit, and Judge Ann Williams of the 7th Circuit heard the case.

Competition co-chair Joshua Johnson ’09 said, “We were extremely pleased with this semester’s final round. The competitors devoted a tremendous amount of time and effort to researching the case law and crafting their arguments, and this showed both in their briefs and their oral arguments. We also could not have asked for better panelists. Judges Colloton, Gruender, and Williams engaged in a true conversation with the oralists, listening respectfully to their arguments and asking insightful questions.”

The Morris Tyler Moot Court competition takes place each semester at Yale Law School, culminating in the Harlan Fiske Stone Prize Finals in the fall and the Thurman Arnold Prize Finals in the spring. All second- and third-year law students are eligible to participate.