News & Events

Print/PDF this page:

Print Friendly and PDF

Share this page:

YLS Graduate Martha Minow ’79 Named Dean of Harvard Law School

Martha Minow ’79, Jeremiah Smith, Jr. Professor of Law at Harvard Law School, has been named Dean of Harvard Law School, succeeding Elena Kagan, who left earlier this year to become U.S. Solicitor General. Howell Jackson, the James S. Reid, Jr., Professor of Law at Harvard Law School, has served as the School’s acting dean in recent months. Minow will assume her new position on July 1.

“We congratulate Harvard Law School on its appointment of Martha Minow as Dean,” said Yale Law School Acting Dean Kate Stith. “She is a distinguished scholar and citizen of Harvard University, and we take special pride in counting her an alumna of Yale Law School (the class of 1979, which also included Judge Sonia Sotomayor). Professor Minow is an outstanding choice as Dean, and she will build on the solid accomplishments of Dean Elena Kagan and Acting Dean Howell Jackson.”

Minow holds a B.A. in history from the University of Michigan, a master’s degree in education from Harvard, and a J.D. from Yale Law School. She clerked for Judge David Bazelon of the United States Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit and then for Justice Thurgood Marshall of the Supreme Court of the United States. She joined the Harvard Law faculty as an assistant professor in 1981, was promoted to professor in 1986, was named the William Henry Bloomberg Professor of Law in 2003, and became the Jeremiah Smith, Jr. Professor of Law in 2005. She is also a lecturer in the Harvard Graduate School of Education.