Print/PDF this page:

Print Friendly and PDF

Share this page:

Latino Law Students Association (LLSA)

The Latina/o Law Students Association (LLSA) of Yale Law School hosted its eighth annual Alumni Achievement Award Dinner on March 9th, 2013.  LLSA celebrates a Latino alumnus or Latina alumna each year for his or her distinguished record of public service and leadership. The event brings together LLSA alumni, current students, and YLS faculty and administrators to celebrate the contributions and achievements of the honoree. We had the privilege of honoring Professor Cristina Rodriguez, ’00, Professor of Law (Yale Law School).


LLSA members with Dean Rachel Moran, UCLA Law School, and Dean Robert Post, Yale Law School

LLSA Members with the 2012 honoree, Rachel Moran '81, Dean of UCLA Law School, and Robert Post '77, Dean of Yale Law School.

Professor Rodriguez joined the following alumni, who have accepted the LLSA Public Service Award in past years:

2006: Justice Sonia Sotomayor '79, Supreme Court of the United States.
2007: Thomas A. Saenz '91, MALDEF President and General Counsel.
Class of 2007 Special Award: Natalia Martín '85, Yale Law School Associate Dean of Students, 1991-2005.
2008: Honorable José A. Cabranes '65, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.
2009: Honorable Cecilia M. Altonaga '86, U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida.
2010: Professor Gerald Torres '77, Bryant Smith Chair in Law, The University of Texas School of Law.
2011: Justice Monica M. Márquez '97, Colorado Supreme Court.
2012: Rachel Moran, ’81, Dean of UCLA Law School and Michael J. Connell Distinguished Professor of Law.

LLSA is also grateful to our generous law firm sponsors that will make the 2013 Alumni Achievement Award Dinner possible. Current sponsors include:

Gold Sponsors:
Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP ; Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP; Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP; Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz 

Silver Sponsors:
O’Melveny & Myers LLP; Sidley Austin LLP

If you are interested in attending or sponsoring the upcoming Public Service Award Dinner in New Haven, or for any other inquiries about LLSA, please contact Co-Chairs Conchita Cruz, conchita.cruz@yale.edu, and Julia Solorzano, julia.solorzano@yale.edu.