Print/PDF this page:

Print Friendly and PDF

Share this page:

Careers and Internships in Education

YLS students and alums have held summer internships related to law and education at the following organizations:

Advancement Project, Washington, DC
Advocates for Children of New York, New York, NY
The Education Trust, Washington, DC
General Counsel, New Leaders for New Schools, New York, NY
Hogan Lovells US LLP, Washington, DC
I Have a Dream Foundation, New York, NY
Jerome Frank Legal Services Organization (LSO), New Haven, CT
Lawyers for Children, New York, NY
Legal Aid Society, Juvenile Rights Division, New York, NY
AACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund Inc., New York, NY and Washington, DC
National Youth Law Center, Oakland, CA
New Haven Public Schools, New Haven, CT
New York City Department of Education, New York, NY
New Visions for Public Schools, New York, NY
Recovery School District of New Orleans, New Orleans, LA
Southern Poverty Law Center, Jackson, MS
Team Child, Seattle, WA
The White House, Washington, DC
Uncommon Schools, New York, NY
U.S. Department of Education, Washington, DC and Chicago, IL
Youth Law Center, Washington, DC

The following YLS alums have pursued careers in education after graduating:

Jon Davidson (YLS ’79): Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund, Los Angeles, CA
Judith Sandalow (YLS ’90): The Children's Law Center, Washington, DC
James Forman, Jr. (YLS ’92): Yale Law School, New Haven, CT
Dana Shoenberg (YLS ’93): Center for Children’s Law and Policy, Washington, DC
Mara Bernstein (YLS ’95): Center for Families, Children & the Courts, San Francisco, CA
Sunil Mansukhani (YLS ’95): US Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights, Washington, DC
Sandhya Subramanian (YLS ’96): Oberlin College, Office of the General Counsel, Oberlin, OH
Steven Farr (YLS ’98): Teach For America, Washington, DC
Robin Golden (YLS ’98): Yale Law School CED Clinic, New Haven, CT
Stefan Pryor (YLS ’98): Connecticut State Education Department, Hartford, CT
Dacia Toll (YLS ‘98): Achievement First, New Haven, CT
Lucy Glasson (YLS ’00): US Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights, Philadelphia, PA
Kimberley Brownson (YLS ’02): Advancement Project, Los Angeles, CA
Mike Johnston (YLS '03): Colorado State Senate, Denver, CO; New Leaders for New Schools
Avni Gupta-Kagan (YLS ’05): DC Public Schools, Washington, DC
John King, Jr. (YLS ’07): New York State Education Department, Albany, NY
Neerav Kingsland (YLS ’07): New Schools for New Orleans, New Orleans, LA
Ravi Gupta (YLS ’09): Nashville Prep, Nashville, TN
Benjamin Lindy (YLS ’10): DC Public Schools, Washington, DC
Lindsey Luebchow (YLS ’11): US Department of Education, Washington, DC
Matthew Matera (YLS ’11): New Schools for New Orleans, New Orleans, LA