Meet the Members

LLSA Members with Supreme Court Justice, Sonia Sotomayor '79, during her visit to Yale Law School on October 25, 2014.

The Latina/o Law Students Association (LLSA) of Yale Law School recently elected a new board for 2015-2016. Congratulations to new board members:

Helen Diagama - President
Alex Schultz - Vice President
Dennise Moreno - Co-Treasurer
Sarahi Uribe - Co-Treasurer
Misha Guttentag - Community Outreach Co-Chair
Nicolas Molina – Community Outreach Co-Chair
Andie Levien - Recruitment Chair
Sol Hilfinger-Pardo - Alumni Relations Co-Chair
Sarah Burack - Alumni Relations Co-Chair
Adan Martinez - Faculty Chair
Jeanine Alvarez - Social Committee Co-Chair
Joel Ramirez - Social Committee Co-Chair
Conchita Cruz – 3L Representative
Julia Solórzano - 3L Representative

About LLSA

LLSA of Yale Law School hosted its tenth annual Alumni Achievement Award Dinner on October 22, 2015. LLSA celebrates a Latino alumnus or Latina alumna each year for his or her distinguished record of public service and leadership. The event brings together LLSA alumni, current students, and YLS faculty and administrators to celebrate the contributions and achievements of the honoree. This fall, we had the privilege of celebrating the accomplishments and leadership of Lourdes Rivera, a Senior Program Officer at the Ford Foundation who works on issues of sexuality and reproductive health.

LLSA Board Members with the 2014 honoree, Eduardo Peñalver, Dean of Cornell Law School.

Alumni Awards Recipients

2006: Justice Sonia Sotomayor '79, Supreme Court of the United States.
2007: Thomas A. Saenz '91, MALDEF President and General Counsel.
Class of 2007 Special Award: Natalia Martín '85, Yale Law School Associate Dean of Students, 1991-2005.
2008: Honorable José A. Cabranes '65, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.
2009: Honorable Cecilia M. Altonaga '86, U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida.

2010: Professor Gerald Torres '77, Bryant Smith Chair in Law, The University of Texas School of Law.
2011: Justice Monica M. Márquez '97, Colorado Supreme Court.
2012: Rachel Moran, ’81, Dean of UCLA Law School and Michael J. Connell Distinguished Professor of Law.
2013: Cristina Rodriguez, ’00, Professor of Law (Yale Law School).
2014: Eduardo Peñalver ’99, Dean of Cornell Law School.

Our Gratitude to our Sponsors

LLSA is also grateful to our generous law firm sponsors that made the 2015 Alumni Achievement Award Dinner possible. Current sponsors include:

Gold: Vinson & Elkins, Davis Polk, Simpson, Thacher & Bartlett, Kirkland & Ellis, and Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz

Silver: Paul, Weiss, Ropes & Gray, and Cravath, Swaine & Moore

If you are interested in learning more about LLSA, please contact LLSA President, Helen Diagama,, and LLSA Vice President, Alex Schultz,

Student Organizations

The list of student organizations changes every year, based on the activities and interests of current students. The Law School provides a budget, shared storage space, and administrative resources to approved student organizations.

My degree was the symbol of a collective sacrifice, collective struggle, and my obligation as a recipient of that degree was to continue the struggle, continue the fight, to continue that profound purpose.”

Senator Cory Booker

Class of 1997